ⅡJapanese Rules and Regulations (rule) article by article commentary

Article 5 (take)

When stone of the other party cannot exist on the board based on preceding article by one start, we shall take up all of stones of the other party, and this is called "Hama". In this case we assume completion of start with point in time when we took away stone.

<commentary> Stone which is taken away
Black must take up all of Shiroishi without being able to exist in on a board as sky point which was next to the street disappears by black 1 of reference figure 4 <1> ... <5> in Shiroishi. It becomes start completion when we took up.
(reference figure 4 -1)
(reference figure 4 -1)
(reference figure 4 -2)
(reference figure 4 -2)
(reference figure 4 -3)
(reference figure 4 -3)
(figure of reference 4-4)
(figure of reference 4-4)
(figure of reference 4-5)
(figure of reference 4-5)
(note)
<6> As start is completed when we took up ... <8> white △, and empty point occurs, start of black 1 is possible by Article 4.
(figure of reference 4-6)
(figure of reference 4-6)
(figure of reference 4-7)
(figure of reference 4-7)
(figure of reference 4-8)
(figure of reference 4-8)